Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Borrowed Licence not working in AutoCAD 2015

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
JeffBuckKC
1719 Views, 8 Replies

Borrowed Licence not working in AutoCAD 2015

I work in IT Support at a large further education college, and we have recently upgraded from AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 to AutoCAD Mechanical 2015. Since the upgrade we have been having a problem with using borrowed licences.

A regular user can power up and log onto a laptop using the wireless network, they can then launch AutoCAD 2015 and borrow a licence following the normal procedure (Help > About > Product Information > Borrow Licence) and get a message that the licence has been successfully borrowed. They can then close AutoCAD and disable the WiFi, when trying to launch AutoCAD 2015 they get the FLEXnet License Finder window popping up, meaning that AutoCAD is unusable away from the network. They have then re-enabled the WiFi and returned the borrowed licence.

I have then logged onto the same laptop with my admin account, again using wireless rather than a wired connection. I can launch AutoCAD 2015 and borrow a licence and get a message that the licence has been successfully borrowed. I then close AutoCAD and disable the WiFi, I can then launch AutoCAD products ok.

As this issue only seems to affect regular users, and not administrators, it would appear to be an access rights issue. At no point during testing have I used the wired network, so the MAC tie in issue should not be the problem here. Could someone please advise where the borrowed licence information is stored, so that I can check the file/folder permissions in order to try and resolve this issue.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
ampster40
in reply to: JeffBuckKC