Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 1 of 10 (1,902 Views)

How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

1902 Views, 9 Replies
04-23-2013 07:25 AM

I've just downloaded from subscription PDSU 2014 and wish to install same on a Windows Vista-64 machine.  I am fully aware of the fact that Autodesk does not support such an installation.

 

While reviewing the setup.ini file that comes with the download, I see some specific places with the setup.ini file, where the installation application checks to see if an attempt has been made to install PDSU 2014 on a Vista machine.

 

Is there someone out there that could assist in editing the setup.ini file in such a way as to allow for the installation of PDSU 2014 on my Vista-64 machine?

 

Without going into detail, the purchase of a new computer to install Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 is not possible at this time.

 

Thank you in advance for your assistance in this particular endeavor. :smileyhappy:

Jim Strenk

Inventor 2012 Certified Associate
AutoCAD 2012 Certified Associate

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2012, 2013 & 2014

Other than THAT, Mrs. Lincoln, how was the play??
Illinois: Where we send more Govenors to prison, than on to retirement!
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2013
Message 2 of 10 (1,705 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

06-04-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: JimStrenk

First check that you have installed Update KB971138, if not download it from Microsoft's website and install it.

 

Reboot your system if it asks.

Open Setup.ini, find "Custom Callback" group near the top and remove the "VISTA_32;VISTA_64;" then save the file and proceed with installation.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 10 (1,695 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

06-04-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: izybit

Agreed.  The KB is sometimes hard to find, so I had posted it here awhile back.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Email-with-hotfix-for-inventor-has-no-password/...

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 4 of 10 (1,642 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

06-11-2013 05:24 PM in reply to: izybit

I would like to do the same thing; but am unsuccessful. Do you need to do browser download or something to make this work?

Thanks

 

Also, any chance of a fix for Windows XP?

Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-20-2013
Message 5 of 10 (852 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

11-24-2013 02:40 AM in reply to: JimStrenk

Hi, 

 

I'm wondering if you were succesful in installing IV2014 on Vista. 

We are running Vista still on some pc's and the investment proposal is prepared for going to W7. In the meantime, I need to install IV2014 on Vista.

 

Is it running at your pc and is it stable?

 

Thanks in advance. 

 

Regards, 

 

Paul

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2013
Message 6 of 10 (843 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

11-24-2013 07:24 AM in reply to: paul.schalk
Dear Paul,

I have successfully installed Inventor 2014 on a Vista 32bit laptop but I have only used it for opening some drawings, no real work was done on it.

I suggest you install it yourself and do some tests before using it on a production environment.
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-20-2013
Message 7 of 10 (839 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

11-24-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: izybit

Hi Izybit,

 

Thanks for your quick reply. 

 

So to resumé it all: all I have to do is to make sure that the KB file is installed on the Vista machines and edit the setup.ini file in order to let it install?

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 8 of 10 (831 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

11-24-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: paul.schalk

Hi Paul,

 

Yes it did work and is quite stable - possibly struggling a bit on some larger models.

 

We also did the same thing for an XP laptop. Less use but has been quite useable.

 

The main advantage was the time saved in changing everythig over to W7.


Cheers,

 

John

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2013
Message 9 of 10 (818 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

11-24-2013 03:36 PM in reply to: paul.schalk
As Paul said that is pretty much all you have to do.
Contributor abe
Contributor
abe
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-29-2010
Message 10 of 10 (654 Views)

Re: How to edit Inventor 2014 setup.ini for Vista 64 installation?

12-25-2013 11:14 AM in reply to: izybit

FYI I tried this with Revit Architecture 2014. While it isn't identical, I removed the entire "Custom Callback" section and that gets me to the license area. But after entering my license info, the installer still recognizes that I'm on a different OS. Any suggestions yet? THanks.

Abe Degnan
I've been a Revit user since version 1.x circa 1999, but I'm not a full-time user in my daily job.
www.degnandesignbuilders.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube