ACADE Project Choices That will Cost More (Time and Money) Than You Think!

I have been using ACADE in a controls design environment for 7 years. In my experience, I have found many best practices and workarounds as needed to complete my daily work. My post this week discusses the benefit vs. risk of working with legacy (non-ACADE) drawings when starting a project for a new design. More detailed setup guidelines for project specifics will be another post.

While it is easier (and less troublesome to management and bean counters) to use an existing ACADE project when starting a new design, too often the snakes hidden in the grass will come out to bite you as you take the path of least resistance. If the project you are starting with is not properly configured, and the drawings done using good ACADE practice, you are setting yourself up for trouble.

caddude1_0-1644593701520.jpeg

The dialog box above is simple enough. You have an active project that you are told should be the start of your next design job. It seems very straight forward, just set up the new design based on the existing project and proceed.

The first thing that will trip you up is highlighted in red. I have too many times gone to start a new project, while having a drawing in said project open (usually done to verify having chosen the proper base design). All drawing files in the project you are copying must be closed to be able to proceed. The fine print will get you every time!

AutoCAD electrical is a great product, with many time and money saving capabilities. However, to fully utilize the benefits of the software there are certain core requirements that must be met. As the CAD designer (aka the cad guy) working with many AutoCAD illiterate engineers, I have had no other option than to “just copy project ABC123 and change these few things”.