Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD - What is the point of a CTB file?

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
fkuznets
4208 Views, 13 Replies

AutoCAD - What is the point of a CTB file?

I'm new to AutoCAD, so sorry if this is a bit of a silly question, but aren't CTB files redundant? Why would I ever need to use them? From what I understand, they're just a way to assign a bunch of properties to things in my drawing, but couldn't I just do that using layer properties? 

[ The subject line of this post has been edited for clarity by @handjonathan Original: What is the point if a CTB file? ]

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
illusionistNUGXG
in reply to: fkuznets

It is harder to work with drawings, if all everything is set in the layer properties. All lines look alike.

I can differentiate line styles with ease.

(i use a dark background) white lines  = wide

green = thin

magenta = thin, dashed

cyan = middle lines (dash + dot)

...and they all print black

Also different ctb files can change the printed (or PDF) outcome with one selection.

e.g. thinner lines overall, or monochrome.ctb for black/white only

Message 3 of 14
imadHabash

Hi and Welcome to AutoCAD Forum,

CTB, or color-dependent, plot styles are settings for how the 256 available colors in AutoCAD will appear when you plot them, including the lineweight assigned to each color. When you use CTB styles, you are essentially adapting some or all of the colors 0 through 255 to meet your office standards for plotting. You can use Color Plot Styles to plot in black and white or color.

• By using a finite list of layer colors, CTB styles make it easier to tell which layer is which in your drawing and makes it easier to rescale for plotting.
  • The CTB file offers myriad options, but you are primarily concerned with three:
    • The color in which the source color should plot
    • Line thickness
    • Screening

Imad Habash

EESignature