This has been an issue for several months and hasn't had a response from support, so I'll add it here:
Published models that are downloaded and opened will sync any changes back to the C4R model, if the user has access to the project. The person will even appear in the communicator dialog as being in the model. Changes can be synced back and forth, at least in models without other files linked into it. It may work with files with links when Revit thinks that all the links are the most up-to-date version.
It happens when:
It doesn't happen when:
Not Tested:
Published model with all links up-to-date
This is a huge problem, as we pull down published models as archives at milestones, and use them if we need to restore deleted content or investigate something in a consultant's model so we don't affect the "live" model. There should never be a risk that however anyone handles a published model it will sync back to the central model.
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.