Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Redraw 3d-DWG to Revit Family

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
jarredmonday
460 Views, 12 Replies

Redraw 3d-DWG to Revit Family

Hello everyone,

I've been using AutoCAD for nearly 20 years and I am now starting to work with Revit. I am in over my on modeling 3d objects within Revit with creating a Door Family. I am currently self training and I am using Revit to model our residential single family houses to create exterior renderings with Enscape. I've attached a 3d model of a Garage Door using AutoCAD and was hoping someone could create or insert this into a Family for me to load into my Revit drawing, where I can also apply textures, as well. I am wanting to represent what we are physically using.

Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
barthbradley
in reply to: jarredmonday

@jarredmonday wrote:

hoping someone could create or insert this into a Family for me to load into my Revit drawing, where I can also apply textures, as well. I am wanting to represent what we are physically using.

Just curious to know why you are even using Revit at this stage in your 20 year career.  I mean, it sounds like you don't care to learn it, so why bother with it?  

Message 3 of 13
mhiserZFHXS

Find some tutorials on family creation on YouTube. Its a process to learn, but then you'll be able to create far more than this single door.

And kudos for making the jump after so many years. Revit is certainly more complicated than AutoCAD, but its because it can do so much more. Once you get over the learning curve, you'll be able to work waaay more efficiently than you ever could in CAD.

Message 4 of 13
barthbradley