Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Import fbx file in revit

25 REPLIES 25
SOLVED
Message 1 of 26
Anonymous
126460 Views, 25 Replies

Import fbx file in revit

Hi,

I'm pretty new in revit. I have fbx that created from infraworks, and need to open it in naviswork.

How I can open fbx file in revit? To which format file I should convert so Revit can open the fbx file? I need to assign reference coordinate to fbx file before I open in navisworks.

Thanks
Dana
25 REPLIES 25
Message 2 of 26
Sahay_R
in reply to: Anonymous

You don't.

However you can import your FBX into 3DS Max and re-export it out as a DWG or DXF. Revit will then be able to import the file.

Even better news - NavisWorks will do it directly for you. Just go into Append and FBX is one of the options offered.

Rina Sahay
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Architecture Certified Professional

If you find my post interesting, feel free to give a Kudo.
If it solves your problem, please click Accept to enhance the Forum.
Message 3 of 26
Anonymous
in reply to: Sahay_R

Sorry for necromancing this thread, but I was having the same issue. For a project I needed to insert a FBX file into Revit (it was converted geometry). Export in 3D studio to DWG resulted in far too big dwg's. This could be on my end for not being fully familiar with 3D studio. I found this workaround which worked for me, though it is far from optimal and requires the use of multiple software.

Load the FBX into AutoCAD MEP or Architecture. The use of one of these 2 verticals of AutoCAD is vital, as vanilla AutoCAD doesn't support export to IFC.

After loading the FBX into AutoCAD, you can export it to IFC.

This IFC can be linked to your Revit Project via the manage links.

This workflow works for everything you can load into AutoCAD.