Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to build a leash rig on dog to walk?

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
stevenfila7
1597 Views, 9 Replies

how to build a leash rig on dog to walk?

Good day all,

So, I am new to rigging/parenting/dynamics/etc.   I have heard of many ways to do this and just looking for a simple one that will not slow down my anim or playblast time.

I have a biped character walking a dog with leash.  I want to to put character's hand holding leash in IK for parenting purposes.  The dog will be walking next to char.

Is there a simple set up to make a leash and parent it to dog's neck and then IK hand?  If so, are there any videos / tutorials or screen shots that explain this since I am new to this?

Thank you,

Steve

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

@stevenfila7 

Thanks for posting! What version of Maya are you using? Maya 2019 offers cached playback which could help speed up your animation workflow.

I found this handy tutorial that could be helpful for creating the dog leash: Maya 3D Basics - Animating a Swinging Chain

Faline Custodio Da Silva

Message 3 of 10

Good day Faline,

I am currently using 2018.5.  The video is pretty cool.  However, it doesn't really go into detail about attaching one end of the leash/object to a character and the other end of the leash to another character.

If you know any ideas or suggestions by all means I would appreciate it greatly.

Thank you,

Steve

Message 4 of 10

@stevenfila7 

I would suggest a simple parent constraint to hold the leash to each side. Check out this page: Animate and constrain an object

This will be keyable so you can animate picking up and releasing the leash for example.

Faline Custodio Da Silva

Message 5 of 10

Good day,