Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Tangent Plane on a cone.

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
jsibre
201 Views, 13 Replies

Problem with Tangent Plane on a cone.

Hi,

I'm having a problem with Tangent Planes on a cone. 

I'm new to Fusion, so it's quite possible I just don't know what I'm doing.  I don't understand what the Reference Plane option does (I've played with it a bit, and haven't figured out what it's doing, and the docs here are not expansive on that detail: https://help.autodesk.com/view/fusion360/ENU/?guid=SLD-CONSTRUCT-TANGENT-PLANE).

In my actual project (as opposed to the test case project I've created), I'm working on something that resembles a colander (images on Google).  A flat bottom bowl that is perforated with a zillion holes.  The part that causes trouble is putting holes in the more vertical part of the bowl (I guess it's a conic frustum, with the narrow end 'down').  To put the holes there:

1. I'm attaching a tangent plane to a cone. 

2. I create a sketch on that plane, and draw a rect/circle a few mm up from the origin of that plane (landing the hole-to-be in the wall).

3. I then extrude that rect/circle to make a hole.

4. I then use Rectangular Pattern and Circular Pattern to copy that hole up the side to the top of the wall, and then copy it about the Z axis about 90 times (every 4º) to cover most of the surface.

I could be done at this point, but I want alternating holes to make it more 'diamond shaped' than grid shaped.

5. I create a second Tangent Plane in the same quadrant of the cone (I notice you can do it in each of four locations, 90º apart from one another), and use the angle to shift it by 2º (half of the 4º spacing I achieved by putting 90 around the circular pattern)