Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cant generate tool path with a lead in/pierce clearance

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
pseebald
831 Views, 9 Replies

Cant generate tool path with a lead in/pierce clearance

Hello all, I am fairly new to Fusion 360 but have had some decent success.  I am designing a 2D sign to be plasma cut.  Everything is smooth besides one contour I cannot get to cut without zeroing out lead in and pierce clearance.  It is probably the largest hole in the design so lead in shouldn't be an issue.  I have tried every possible combination of numbers I can think of and have even redrew the circle.  The warnings I am getting are one or more passes discarded, no passes to link, empty toolpath.  

Added in the file.

Tried to add a screen cast from my screen cast but it says invalid link, added it as MP4 instead

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
MattWynn
in reply to: pseebald

Hello @pseebald - wow there are a lot of people cutting signs with circular holes recently!

This is a known issue with large arcs on inside holes, we have a fix but getting it delivered to users is a slow process.

The issue is the large arc next to lines.  I would say add some tiny lines along the arc to break it up into arcs less than 90 degrees.
@engineguy recently found that changing corner mode to keep sharp corners helped , see Re: Troubles with CNC plasma cuttin my fusion design so you might have success with that.

Matt Wynn
Senior Manager, Software Development, Fusion Fabrication
Message 3 of 10
pseebald
in reply to: MattWynn