Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to draw a boat hull

37 REPLIES 37
Message 1 of 38
andrewWMZPK
13779 Views, 37 Replies

How to draw a boat hull

Hello,

I want to do some power boat hull design. I've had some parametric modelling experience with solidworks but I'm new to Fusion 360. The end game is to build a 4m long open power boat from CNC cut flat panels (e.g.plywood or Duflex). I must understand how to draw this myself rather than borrow another design from grabcad.

I'm having great difficulty getting started and getting the basic chined hull form modelled. I'm sure there are plenty of ways to achieve this and it sounds simple but so far I can't control the basic hull shape.. 

1. I want planar bottom surfaces in the aft half of the boat (for efficient planing).

2. I want curved surfaces in the forward half of the boat that can be formed from flat panels (e.g. plywood or duflex).

I've tried sweeping sketched lines and sculpting t-splines but not with good results so far. I'm having difficulty with the combination of a curved surface coming off a flat surface.