Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with designing a rocket nose cone with Von Karman characteristics

22 REPLIES 22
SOLVED
Message 1 of 23
bry0603
3869 Views, 22 Replies

Help with designing a rocket nose cone with Von Karman characteristics

Hello,

I am new to Fusion 360 but have been slowly learning different techniques.  It's great.  My next objective is to find out how to create more complicated conical shapes such as rocket nosecones that have different characteristics.  I'd like to start by making a nose cone with Von Karman profile.  Can anyone help get me started with this?  I can easily make a simple cone but that is about as far as I have been.

Thanks in advance!

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 2.34.35 PM.png

22 REPLIES 22
Message 2 of 23
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: bry0603

@bry0603 wrote:

I'd like to start by making a nose cone with Von Karman profile.  Can anyone help get me started with this?. 

What formula would you like to start with?

Message 3 of 23
davebYYPCU

Sketch an ellipse, trim to keep one quarter and revolve.

if you have a 3point curve, use the sketch spline snapped to the three points.

Formula based - you can use User Parameters.

Might help....

Message 4 of 23
bry0603
in reply to: TheCADWhisperer

I'm having a difficult time just cutting and pasting the formula but here it is in picture form:  I would like a VK series so we would use C=O, R=15 and L=150. Does this help?  Thanks so much for the help!

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 5.38.58 PM.png

Message 5 of 23
Anonymous