Threaded hole (M4 dimensions) in AutoCAD 2018

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
7688 Views, 4 Replies

Threaded hole (M4 dimensions) in AutoCAD 2018

Hi!

I'm new to autocad 2018 and I'm having trouble finding the hole tool. I need to create a threaded hole for an M4 screw: is there a tool to make standardized (threaded) holes? If yes, where can I find it, and if no, what alternative can I use?

Thanks for your help.

@Anonymous

john.vellek has edited your subject line for clarity: Threaded hole (M4 dimensions)

Tags (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
john.vellek
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi @Anonymous,

I see that you are visiting as a new member to the AutoCAD forum. Welcome to the Autodesk Community!

There is no built -in feature that will draw real threads in AutoCAD.  You can certainly create a helix and then sweep the thread profile long the helix as a path but this requires some math calculations on your side in order to determine the pitch of the thread.

Inventor is likely better suited to this task and there is a rather slick utility in the Autodesk App Store called CoolOrange that might be worth investigation.

Please select the Accept as Solution button if my post solves your issue or answers your question.

John Vellek

Join the Autodesk Customer Council - Interact with developers, provide feedback on current and future software releases, and beta test the latest software!

Autodesk Knowledge Network | Autodesk Account | Product Feedback
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: john.vellek

Thank you!

Message 4 of 5
Ed.Jobe
in reply to: Anonymous