Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UV Problems

17 REPLIES 17
Message 1 of 18
Anonymous
4007 Views, 17 Replies

UV Problems

Hi, I am a beginner with 3ds max and Uv'ing. 

I need to UV a trim/molding for ceiling wall. 

Normally I just use UV Map modifier and box option to quickly UV Architectural things like walls, doors etc.. but with the trims its always giving me bad UVs which look terrible in Game engine after exporting. 

I am also thinking of buying Unwrella to do all my Uving, as I cannot waste time with this stuff, it takes too long. 

Anyway, please see below screenshots, please can someone tell me the best way to UV these trims below, using UVW Modifier. Will I have to use seams? 

Please note I am a complete beginner with UVW modifier. 

Any help would be very much appreciated. 

Thanks

Graeme

17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
Fadhil_Farook
in reply to: Anonymous

It's very easy for this model, and other similar ones. Yeah, you can use seams around Corners, then QUICK PEEL, and then apply a RELAX BY POLYGON ANGLES option to ease out any problematic polygons. (See attachment -1)

Explaining the Attached Image below:

1. QUICK PEEL - Use this after you have specified SEAM LINES (This is number 2)

2. SEAMS TOOLS - Use one of these to specify seams before using Quick Peel.

3. RELAX TOOL - After you're done peeling and/or other Unwrapping, it's good to use Relax Tool to ease out an problematic polygons as mentioned earlier.