cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Move Checked Out Files

Move Checked Out Files

If I try to move a folder structure where one or more files in the sub structure are checked out, the whole process stops with a warning and nothing is moved. It would be very helpful if as much as possible were moved and only the checked out files were kept in the original source structure. This should of course only be done after a warning where you get to choose cancel or continue.

Ideally/alternatively it should be possible to move checked out files. Vault should still know where to put the files when they are checked in again even if in a different folder than were checked out from.

2 Comments
ihayesjr
Community Manager
Status changed to: Archived

Thank you for posting this idea. However, there would not be a way to move files that are checked out into the proper folder structure, especially if the files are checked out to other users.

thom_sannes
Participant

The first part of the idea is the most important.

I recently moved a folder with several sub folders in 3-4 levels.
Two files in one of the lower level folders were checked out by a user out of office.
My choices were to either remove reservation and retry, wait till the user came back or move as much as possible. 
I chose the latter, but then I had to:

  1. manually create a new target folder with the same name as the source folder
  2. move all files and folders in the source folder to the new target folder
  3. repeat step 1 and 2 a few times on sub levels until I had moved all files and folders except the checked out files
  4. wait for the user to return to office so he/she could check in the files
  5. move the last files
  6. delete the empty folder structure

The first/main part of my idea is to make it easier to do step 1-3 - i.e. move as much as possible in one go.

 

The second part of my idea would eliminate step 4-6. I could of course not do any changes on the relevant client machine, but I expect it would be possible to move the location on the server and when the user finally check the files in again, Vault would know where to put them and also inform the user about the new location.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Submit Idea