Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Glass railing with clamps

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1188 Views, 5 Replies

Glass railing with clamps

Hello everyone. I am really new in Revit so i need help!. I am modeling a straight staircase with a glass railing and 4 clamps on each glass panel. I could fix panels but I can't fix the clamps! They appear even outside the glass panel. I drew the clamp on the family of glass panels and there, they look good, but when i up load them on the project appear off the axis ... I'm sure I'm missing something if someone can help me, I'll be very grateful!. I attach an image to explain it better. Thanks!!

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
barthbradley
in reply to: Anonymous

Doesn't sound like they are constrained properly. Post the family.  Lets check it out. 

Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: barthbradley

Thank you!. I'm really new to this, so I'm sure I made a lot of mistakes...

I really appreciate your help!!

P.S.: I hope to be exporting the family well, if you can't load it please let me know

Message 4 of 6
barthbradley

A little more work than I thought.  Check out the rebuilt.  

Notice that the Clamp is now a nested family. Also notice the parameters I added. I grouped them under "Model Properties".  

Message 5 of 6
barthbradley

Important to understand here is Work Planes. Most all of the elements I placed are hosted to Ref. Line Work Planes -- some of which are hosted to other Ref. Line Work Planes.  The family would not flex properly otherwise. 

Drill down from here to learn more about Work Planes:

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2016/EN...

Message 6 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: barthbradley

Thank a lot!!