Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create grid with labels

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
1000 Views, 7 Replies

Create grid with labels

Great forum.

Say, I'd like to create grids, where each square is uniquely labeled (can be any unique labels, really, such as "1", "2", "3", etc., or "a1", etc. below). How do I best do this. Is the best way?: View --> Guide Grid

daleTTV26_0-1615567852562.png

Tags (1)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
bimscape
in reply to: Anonymous

May I ask: What doe you actually want to do with this grid of unique cells? If you describe the end result / strategy you are wanting to achieve, we could work backwards and determine the best solution. There may be other options that don't involve Guide Grids?

Kind regards,
Ian

Author of The Complete Beginners' Guide to Autodesk Revit Architecture (free online course)
Message 3 of 8
aaron_rumple

Quick and dirty, since we don't know what you really want to do....

A square family - arrayed in your grid and then tag each family with Mark.

Use Dynamo to rename them with the letters and numbers based on location.

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: bimscape

Good question. We label warehouses for determining forklift travel distances, and we look at each bin in the warehouse and assign an arbitrary unique zone that ("a1", "b3", "j5", etc.) to it. So I need to look at any point in the warehouse and say "that point is in zone b3". Does that help?

Message 5 of 8
aaron_rumple

Then yes.
I'd make a family - it could just be some model lines in plan. Array the family in a grid and tag all. Then you can do the tags a couple of ways.

• By hand.
  • Two fields for column and row.
    • Select all in a row and add the row value
    • Select all in a column and add the column value