Central, model and Sync error

Central, model and Sync error

Anonymous
Not applicable
3,134 Views
4 Replies
Message 1 of 5

Central, model and Sync error

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

 

I have a rather odd issue when syncing to the central model: our central file is on a Revit server and I have noticed on different occasions that when I sync now, my recently made changes (like changing view titles for instance) come undone. It is as if the sync overrides my latest changes with some old one central model. We are approximately 6 people working on this file so it is vital to have the latest updates from central. Has anybody have this happen to them before and how do you solve this?

 

Thanks in advance!

0 Likes
3,135 Views
4 Replies
Replies (4)
Message 2 of 5

ennujozlagam
Mentor
Mentor

@Anonymous Hello, it is a better practice to create a new central file every two weeks, which means you have to relinquish every user's, discard worksheets and detached from central. Then open your central file audit,  purge/delete only from project browser those families, views you don't need to be safe. I know it's a lot of work, but at the end you will benefit from it. Then create new local to all the user's. Alternatively, check all user's working with central file if they are the same build of Revit program sometimes, where the issues is the coming from. Please see attached. thanks

build.JPG

 

 





Remember : without the difficult times in your LIFE, you wouldn't be who you are today. Be grateful for the good and the bad. ANGER doesn't solve anything. It builds nothing, but it can destroy everything...
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question. Kudos gladly accepted.
0 Likes
Message 3 of 5

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi! I am having the *File Not Saved* Error too when more than one user has opened the local file and tries to Synchronize. 

When only one User opens the local file, can Work on the file, Synchronize and Save without any error. 

 

I have tried all option; Open with Audit, Purge, Discard worksets and re-create them, remove all the links, Save out the Library, etc..., but unfortunately no luck on restoring the file. 

 

Any thoughts or help would be very appreciated. 

 

Thanks in advance! 

0 Likes
Message 4 of 5

ennujozlagam
Mentor
Mentor

@Anonymous hello, do you have enough harddisk space in your network drive? try to create a new central file and see if helps. thanks

 

Alternatively try to install latest updates from autodesk all the users.





Remember : without the difficult times in your LIFE, you wouldn't be who you are today. Be grateful for the good and the bad. ANGER doesn't solve anything. It builds nothing, but it can destroy everything...
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question. Kudos gladly accepted.
Message 5 of 5

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous, I had the same issue when syncing but that was because people were syncing on top of each other.

 

Can you try to save a detached model and get everybody to open their local file from the detached model? But try @ennujozlagam suggestion first and then we can try to shoot bullets into the dark until we hit a target. 😉