Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Specular shading attributes not rendering properly in materials viewer [HELP]

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
JuanDAyalde
3751 Views, 14 Replies

Specular shading attributes not rendering properly in materials viewer [HELP]

Hi all! This is my first post in the forums : ) and I find it very appropriate to be about a little problem I’ve encountered. So, I’m pretty new to Maya and most likely there will be something obvious that I’m missing but I have searched the forums and the internet and have found nothing yet. I was following a tutorial posted on knowledge.autodesk.com named “Adding Materials and Textures” (link should be the 5th tutorial posted there) and ran up into a problem that has to do with the hypershade’s material viewer. It so happens that in the tutorialthe instructor creates a new Blinn material and shows how the specular shading attributes change the appearance of the shader ball, first by altering eccentricity and then by doing the same with specular roll off. The problem is that when I do the same, my results are not at all as shown in the tutorial! Eccentricity should alter the crispness of the highlight making it look like a more or less rough surface depending of where you place the slider and specular roll off should make the highlight more or less prominent. In my case, the shader ball seems not to change at all (see pictures). What may be the problem and what should I do?

In the Pictures you will find different scenarios, where I compare My setup(left) to the tutorials setup (right). I set everything to be the same as in the tutorial even the color and secular colors are the same. Also the common material attributes are the same (default except for color).