Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Motion capture and rigging help, BEGINNER

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
1992 Views, 8 Replies

Motion capture and rigging help, BEGINNER

I am quite new to the rigging and motion capture field and would appreciate all the help I can get!

I am in a group project where we plan on using motion capture on our main character.
The issue is that this character has different proportions to a regular human.
What precautions should I take or be wary of?

We also plan on having facial animation, but we don't want the motion capture to affect any of the facial features. Are there ways to do so? Should the face rig be connected to the base rig or should it be a separate loose component?
Pardon if my questions seem lacking, I really want to learn, but not the best finding the proper tutorials for my questions.

Bloo_face14.png

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
gautham.chandran47
in reply to: Anonymous

It really breaks down to what kind of rig you are using. While transferring the mocap data to your custom rig, if there are any facial controls which are not directly connected to the head controller will be stayed back while the character moves. In most case, this won't be an issue.

For the proportion, the FIK system will take care of most body proportion issues if you're keeping the controllers in IK. According to the results, you may wanna edit the animation after retargeting.

All the best for your project Smiley Happy

Goutham Chandran
Cinematic Animator | Rockstar Games
Linkedin | Instagram | Facebook

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: gautham.chandran47