Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constraining Sketch Point or Work Plane to Assembly's Center of Gravity with iLogic

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
danielcLJDRZ
677 Views, 11 Replies

Constraining Sketch Point or Work Plane to Assembly's Center of Gravity with iLogic

I've been working on an assembly and I'm facing some difficulties. My objective is to constrain a component's sketch point or work plane to the assembly's center of gravity (CoG). Despite trying various methods, I haven't been successful.

I was wondering if this task could be accomplished using iLogic? I'm relatively new to iLogic, so any guidance on this would be incredibly helpful.

Here's what I've attempted so far:

1. Determining the Center of Gravity: Using the "Center of Gravity" command, I can visualize the CoG of the assembly. However, utilizing this point directly for constraints has proven to be challenging.

2. Reference Geometry Creation: I tried creating reference geometry (such as a work point or work plane) at the CoG. While I can create these references, constraining my component’s sketch point or work plane to these references hasn't yielded the desired results.

Is there a way to leverage iLogic to simplify this process? If so, a step-by-step explanation or any example codes would be immensely valuable.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12

Could you share a component that needs to be constraint in the assembly, the assembly file is not needed in this case?

Could you also give me the sketchpoint you need to use?

Regards,

Arthur Knoors

Autodesk Affiliations: