Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trackball vs Optical Mouse

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
Anonymous
19375 Views, 13 Replies

Trackball vs Optical Mouse

I would like to purchase a track ball to replace my existing mouse. What are the pros and cons of each? Is it worth the extra cost to go out and buy a trackball?
13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

I have never liked track balls but others swear by them. One thing you may want to try is a graphics tablet and pen. I have been using one for about 3 months and like it a lot. my brains a bit screwey though as i am right handed except for writing which i am left handed so it took me a while to get used to the space pilot in my right hand after i lost the mouse. I wanted a cintiq but couldnt afford one so bought a cheap tablet pc from ebay a month ago and am using remote desktop to drive my workstation. its not perfect and lags quite often, its really to show my employer the merit in buying me a cintiq or decent tabletpc. I do a lot of work on planes and trains and find the tablet a lot easier to control on a bumpy ride
Message 3 of 14
j_madison

I really prefer trackballs over mouses. But, I always like to recommend a trackball that requires the use of your fingers instead of the thumb. There are quite a few out there that are set up for either right, or left handed only, and they require the use of the thumb to roll the ball. That is probably fine for very light computer usage. But, for CAD users, the thumb isn't as good for lots of finely detailed movement. I've used different trackballs over the years, but this one is my favorite:

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/mice_pointers/trackballs/devices/4680&cl=us,en