Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inserting code with manual NC operations - Fusion 360

Inserting code with manual NC operations - Fusion 360

Hello Ideastation experts,

My name is Clay Spurlock. I am the lead programmer of the in-house machine shop of Diversified Machine Systems of Colorado Springs.

I have been using Mastercam daily for four years now, but have been encouraged to pick up Fusion 360 by our CTO, Patrick Bollar. We are working out a deal that will allow us to distribute Fusion 360 to all customers that buy a DMS machine.

I have also been encouraged to submit this idea to you by Paul Clauss.

All of my Mastercam files include detailed instructions on material sizes, loads, and some manual entries that include code.

I have run into some problems with the available post for three-axis Haas mills in Fusion 360. The ability to post out code as a manual entry would allow me to use your software in the production environment,without changing our system (which is working very well). I have tried to use Pass Through, but it didn't post out anything for that op. 

Paul suggested an acceptable work-around for this situation, which i will use for now. Posting code as comments and deleting the parentheses. I always prefer to maintain my part files in a way that they are 100% ready to run as posted.

Thank you for your time, and the ability to suggest improvements to your software. You will hear more from me :).

-Clay Spurlock

12 Comments

@Anonymous

This is an easy post processor change.

By default, this is not implemented to make sure people don't ruin their machine.

This is the function you would have to add to your post processor.

If you put a , in it will split the text to the next line.

function onPassThrough(text) {
  var commands = String(text).split(",");
  for (text in commands) {
    writeBlock(commands[text]);
  }
}
al.whatmough
Alumni
Status changed to: Implemented

al.whatmough
Alumni