Announcements
Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A strategy combining Rest Machining Contour & Pencil for cleaning out corners

A strategy combining Rest Machining Contour & Pencil for cleaning out corners

I started programming initially with Cimatron, a 10+ year old version of it at that several years ago. Cimatron has an operation called "Remachine" with an option of clean up that worked great. Similar to Rest Machining, you would enter in a previous tool size, say a 1" ball, and the operation would clean out any stock that a 1" ball had left behind. You would then specify values for down and side steps separately. The operation would then clean out all vertical corners/fillets as HSM's 3D contour strategy does, but it would also clean out any corners/fillets that were more horizontal just as the pencil strategy does. The way I do it now is to use Rest Machining Contour first, selecting or drawing up all boundaries encompassing vertical corners, then creating a separate pencil operation for the areas with lower slope. I can't allow the pencil strategy alone to clean out all excess stock in corners, especially in cases of having undrafted walls because the shaft will clash. This approach produces great results but is more time consuming than I'd like.