Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EDM wire cutting

EDM wire cutting

Hi All

In the world of Wirecutting everything is very out of date, old school, over complex and booring!

It would be nice if we could get EDM wirecutting in HSM/Fusion360... I actually think they could get 'a lot' of customers or visibility out in the cam world if it was a smart and simple wirecut software, think how simple wirecutting is? why not implement! (I know there are specific challenges to this, it's not THAT easy, but still) if it was made smart and simple (which it can and should be) then they would blow the competition away...

EDM wirecut is needed to make HSM the full package 🙂 thanks for voting!

billede.png

41 Comments
shane_tully
Contributor

I Agree, I have been pushing for wire EDM support for many years and it appears that they have no interest in supporting it. I Love the workflow of HSMWorks everything is clean and efficient. I started looking for a new CAM package that supports Wire EDM, but find myself hating every aspect of other packages as their UI just flat out sucks. I have been using HSMworks for Simple 2.5 Axis wire Work but now that our parts are beginning to demand more complex work using the 4-5 axis (wire tilt) cuts would be nice to at least get some support for this even if it is a tool to at least generate the toolpaths and leave the cutting tech to the user to deal with. from what i have seen in order to do this its only some post processor work and a few mods to the UI as the swarf path appears to be able to somewhat handle handle the toolpaths. I have been using a modified post for our CHMER wire EDM for the simple 2D work if you would like the Post Processor let me know. I have been trying to figure out how to hack up a 5 axis post to work for our tilt but have had no luck yet. I'm sure if they do start to support we will see it in the fusion360 environment long before we see in the HSMWorks which is