Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Z Height in CNC Simulate goes through workarea

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
nickA9AGT
168 Views, 3 Replies

Z Height in CNC Simulate goes through workarea

Hello Fusion Team,

I am a novice in CAM design with fusion 360, I own a genmitsu 6050PROVerXL that I still have not got to run with fusion 360. One of the issues I'm finding is that during simulation of a new project I simulate the operation and for whatever reason the CNC goes -700 below the Z axis travel even though in Kinematics I've told it that the max range is -115mm. I've had it on one project work like a charm and when I try it on the next I get this issue, I don't know how to solve this. 

Screenshot 2024-06-18 at 3.01.07 PM.png

Not sure which aspects of my settings people want to see, but I imagine this may have something of interest. I have the bottom height at -1mm because I want it to cut all the way through and it wasn't going that at 0. 

Screenshot 2024-06-18 at 3.02.14 PM.png

my x and Y settings are like this and have no problem

Screenshot 2024-06-18 at 3.02.41 PM.png

Screenshot 2024-06-18 at 3.03.08 PM.png

In the machine builder the z axis seems to be fine, I know for a fact I did not ask the CNC to go -761mm below the work bed. 

Screenshot 2024-06-18 at 3.05.20 PM.png

Please help me find an answer, when I did it with another design I didn't have this problem but another being "Z-overtravel" which I didn't understand, but looked like the design would work when I tested it on my CNC without a drill bit. Only issue i had there is that the machine was cutting in the air, I probed it from the material I wanted to cut not the MDF board it was sitting on which I'm guessing is the problem. 

Labels (3)
3 REPLIES 3