Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smooth blend between different bodies

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
Anonymous
3804 Views, 18 Replies

Smooth blend between different bodies

Hi all

I'm a newbie trying to create a complicated model. I couldn't get what I needed in the Sculpt workspace so I created different bodies instead. Now, I need to join them in a way that achieves a smooth transition but I can't find a way to do it.

I am prone to finding complicated ways to solve simple problems so please feel free to tell me I'm doing it completely wrong.

What I'm trying to achieve can be seen in the two attached photos (side view and top view). I created different bodies for the shapes I wanted and now can't join them together smoothly. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Here is a link to the model I'm working on https://a360.co/2pbmPni

Thanks in advance for your help.

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
lichtzeichenanlage
in reply to: Anonymous

Rule of thumb: Don't use tools like spheres in the model workspace.

Unless you've sketched everything (even the part you are not extruding but placing a sphere) you just could extrude the part and than fillet it later. This should solve your problem because it should result in one body.

Message 3 of 19

@lichtzeichenanlage wrote:

I guess Wilko is referring to primitives geometry, such as Box, Cylinder, Sphere, etc- but then fails to provide the critical "why". As is, a bit like saying "don't wear green in Spring" (but I LIKE green and Spring- why not combine them?   Good question, no?)