Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rookie mistake? - Chamfer prior to thread

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
thoreaubakker
1936 Views, 13 Replies

Rookie mistake? - Chamfer prior to thread

Hi All.
I just started playing threads and 3D printing -- so cool!

I think I mad a mistake, but am looking for confirmation / insight.
I did a chamfer on a cylinder (screw) before applying the thread.

Printed out the male and female components, and there is no way they would thread.

Looking at my design in x-ray, I think it's the chamfer that's preventing the thread to enter. The angle looks wrong.

Can anyone confirm my mistake? 
Should I avoid a chamfer, or just make sure it's at the same angle as the thread? 

Thanks  🙂

2020-03-10 19_44_54-Fusion360.png2020-03-10 19_42_32-Autodesk Fusion 360 (Education License).png2020-03-10 19_41_54-Autodesk Fusion 360 (Education License).png

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
MRWakefield
in reply to: thoreaubakker

What you need to do is add the chamfer after the thread feature. However, there's a little trick to getting it to work! When you first add your thread feature make sure it's just a cosmetic thread (make sure 'modeled' is unchecked). Then add the chamfer. Once you've done this go back and edit the thread feature and now check the 'modeled' checkbox. You should now have a modelled thread with a chamfer.

If this answers your question please mark the thread as solved as it can help others find solutions in the future.
Marcus Wakefield

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________