Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lofting complex geometry from wire frame

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
vcientanni
474 Views, 8 Replies

Lofting complex geometry from wire frame

Hey there, I've had a search on the forums to answer my problem; but I'm extremely new to Fusion 360 and I don't understand what I'm doing! I want to model a complex shape from some scale drawings I did (see attached). I've built a basic wire frame (took me all day to draw in 3D!) and now I want to fill this wire frame as a volume. I've been trying to use the loft tool for this; but I just can't get it to loft along the wire frame as rails. I think I need more rails? Or to divide the shape up more? Perhaps I need to do this in a completely different way (such as using the form tools, but I find that equally as time consuming and produces a not so accurate/simple geometry). It takes SO long to add lines and I can just tell I'm doing this in a terrible way (I can never seem to get my sketches to stay in a construction plane, or to snap to already built sketches/rails). Some advice or help would be much appreciated! Screen Shot 2020-08-31 at 20.46.43.png 

Labels (2)
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

What are you attempting to model?

Can you File>Export your *.f3d file to your local drive and then Attach it here to a Reply?

Message 3 of 9
g-andresen
in reply to: vcientanni

Hi,

If you would show an image of a real existing object it would be easier to say something about it.

For example if a wireframe is necessary or useful at all.

Günther

Message 4 of 9
davebYYPCU

We need your file to make constructive comment.  File > Export save to hard drive, 

Stick to 2d planar sketches.