Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to scale only one face?

35 REPLIES 35
SOLVED
Message 1 of 36
Anonymous
3189 Views, 35 Replies

How to scale only one face?

Hello! I am very new to Fusion, and have a question about scaling faces. It would be nice if the fillet tool could take two radii so that the fillet could be ellipse shaped. So I'm trying to get around that limitation.

What I'm doing is scaling the object in one axis, and then I want to scale the center face smaller. You can see in this diagram. The outer object is there for reference. The inner object is the one I'm trying to change. If I could scale the blue face smaller, I could get the effect I want. But whenever I try to scale the face, the whole object gets selected and scaled instead.

center face.png

The effect I'm going for is that of a shallow depression that isn't steep. I want the curve to extend further into the object. If I could just scale the selected face smaller, that would fix my problems. I know I have somewhat fixed my problem already by scaling my whole object in one direction. But it isn't enough. The blue object needs to be the same size and dimensions as the enclosing object, disregarding the fillet:

whole thing.png

Thanks for any help, I've been struggling with this for a long time.

Edit: I realize that I could fix my problem by increasing the radius of the outer corners of the box. But I don't what those corners to change.

Henning

35 REPLIES 35
Message 2 of 36
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: Anonymous

Can you File>Export your *.f3d file to your local drive and then Attach it here to a Reply?

Message 3 of 36
Anonymous

Here is the file. Sorry - I should have thought of attaching it.

Message 4 of 36