Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help: Could not print STL File -- Collision Problems..?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
mallerya
466 Views, 6 Replies

Help: Could not print STL File -- Collision Problems..?

Hello everyone. I am new to fusion 360. I designed a mount for a small DC motor and I'm trying to 3D print it on my campus. I was told he could not print out the T shaped object but the other one was fine. What could be causing the issue? Could it be related to the two objects colliding?

I had one cylinder object slightly protruding into the other, then combined the objects. One object is just a cylinder shape, while the other was an sketch I obtruded in order to get the d-shaft in diameter shape.

How could I make the back end of the d-shaft to sit more flush against the other cylinder object?

I have attached the project, the render STL file and an image. Please take a look. I appreciate any help 🙂

Tags (2)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
davebYYPCU
in reply to: mallerya

See if this helps, 

Step up the time line.

Do not use primitive bodies, they don't have sketches, you get more functionality from sketches.

19 move commands, not needed. 

Make everything in place and use the origin for symmetric parts.

you have 2 parts, so there is now 2 components.

Use the eyeballs to work out what's going on.

Might help....

Message 3 of 7
etfrench

That will be a difficult design to print well as is. Is there a reason the T shape is comprised of cylinders? You'll probably need to create custom supports for the interior of the D.