Did you mean: 

Visibility States, Block and lookup tables

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
awashingtonCH46X
304 Views, 6 Replies

Visibility States, Block and lookup tables

Long time reader, first time posting!

I'm self-taught in AutoCAD and need help just getting pointed in the right direction. 

The block I'm trying to make is simple, yet I just can't find the right combination to make a block that works efficiently and effectively. The block is for racking in warehouses. I am currently using a block table and visibility states for the length and width of each rack and for the most part that works fine.

The way I want the block to function is there is a drop down to pick the size of the block (length, width, upright thickness, beam thickness) and then another dropdown of how many bays (bays are where the racking can hold pallets).

My two main issues are:

• the racks share "uprights" that are linked with "beams". 1 bay would be 2 uprights with 2 beams for a single elevation. but 2 bays would be 3 uprights and 4 beams for 1 elevation and 3 uprights 8 beams for 2 elevations. I can't find a way to count the uprights correctly and same for the beams with the elevations.
  • the more visibility states and parameters for the racking itself is putting a strain on the block table and I'm not sure if they will work but I tried using double lookup tables and just couldn't get a working version for my situation. but with the increases variables there was up to 15000 different combinations in the block table, and I would like to simplify that to decrease the amount of lag when inserting this block.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Please @Libbya if you got a chance help me out!

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
vinodkl
in reply to: awashingtonCH46X

Hello @awashingtonCH46X 

Please share the block that you are working on.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------