Did you mean: 

Dynamic Block from scratch - new to using them

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
tstorzuk
2206 Views, 6 Replies

Dynamic Block from scratch - new to using them

Hello all,

A little help please. I'm new to Dynamic Blocks in AutoCAD, and I'm not sure if what I want to accomplish is even possible. So I thought to ask here before even starting.

First before I get to my question, if you have any links/resources for learning to create Dynamic Blocks they would be appreciated if you could share them.

Now to my question.....I'm wanting to make some dynamic piping blocks (flanges, elbows, tees, weld gaps, etc...).

For filtering them I need various parameters;

1. Rating (this is the pipe pressure rating)

2. Size (actual size of the piping components)

3. Schedule (the thickness of the piping components)

I would like the blocks to be arranged so that I filter the rating first, size second, and schedule third. All three filters would determine all of the dimensions/lengths/size/layers/linetypes of the dynamic block to be placed. All of these dimensions, if possible, could they be input from an excel sheet or a list (based on the above filters)?

Then, would it also be possible to change the orientation of the Dynamic Block (for example, a flange viewed face on is totally different from it being viewed from the side).

Thanks in advance for all your help. I look forward to hearing from all.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: tstorzuk