AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export object data to excel

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
sthompson1021
487 Views, 4 Replies

Export object data to excel

I have received a drawing with a block in it that has data attached to it. I can see the data in properties but cannot figure out how to export to excel. I'm new to Map 3D so any help would be appreciated. I've attached a drawing with one of the blocks in it.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

Hi @sthompson1021 

Thank you for uploading your block.

BTW, it would be helpful if you could explain WHY you need to export it to excel. I'm guessing you merely need to VIEW the data (you can easily see the data on your monitor) not necessarily see the data sitting in a spreadsheet. As always, the REAL value is gained when you feed data into Map3D, analyze it, then create points, lines and/or polygons to present the data in graphic form such as maps.

If you must create a spreadsheet, create a shapefile first. Unlike plain vanilla entities, a shapefile can, and will, STORE data inside the objects. You can access this STORED data and save it in organized tabular form.

First, use the MAPEXPORT command to create a shapefile. Name the shapefile OD_Block and save if in your project folder. <<FYI, when executing MapExport, all blocks are considered to be POINT objects, no exceptions.>> Next, do this:

1.  On the Selection tab, do this. <<Your drawing only had one block or one building. If you have more than one, you must select ALL the buildings.>>
  2. On the Data tab=>Select attributes=>Expand Object Data=>Check the box named Address Points=>OK <<Your Object Data will be captured and displayed in the columns named Source Field and Output Field.>>