Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copy layers

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
219 Views, 3 Replies

Copy layers

Im just learning autocad 2016 for my job which consists of me updating oil pipe drawing revisions with circuit numbers to each pipe. Each layer is a circuit number. Is there a way to copy layers from Revision A to Revision B or a way to just replace rev a drawing with rev b while keeping the layers and adjusting what ever change was updated which is either adding or deleting a pipeline. They have me starting from scratch on each rev which i think is a waste of time. Thanks everyone for sharing any knowledge. I really appreciate it.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
BeKirra
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

They have me starting from scratch on each rev which i think is a waste of time.

Yes, it wastes time really.

1st of all, is there a drawing standard in your office? And do you use vault?

If your answers are "no" to above, you may save your last revision to a new file for new revision. Then make changes on the file.

2nd, are you going to copy layers from a drawing file to another?

Please mark "Accept as Solution" and "Like" if my reply resolves the issue and it will help when others need helps.
= ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ =
A circle is the locus of a cursor, starting and ending at the same point on a plane in model space or in layout such that its distance from a given coordinates (X,Y) is always constant.
X² + Y² = C²
Message 3 of 4
Anonymous
in reply to: BeKirra

Not sure if there is a standard as i receive the files from the cad dept.
No vault that i know of. How exactly can i change the old drawing with the
new drawing and keep the circuit numbers which were added. Not sure if
thats possible. Or could i copy layers into the new drawing and how. Thanks
for replying.

Message 4 of 4
BeKirra
in reply to: Anonymous