Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For those that have used sketchup...

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
3684 Views, 8 Replies

For those that have used sketchup...

Hi, 

I'm a total beginner at 3DS max, so point me in the right direction if this isn't it. 

I'm a sketchup user, and good enough at it that I consider myself a total pro. Sketchup just fits really well with the way I model, and the reasons why come down my technique of using geometry as natural guides. This can sort of be summarized with a few points 

- Really really good snapping and alignment tools. More on this in a moment 

- Really intuitive selection. If I want to move an object, I can automatically move it according to a vertex, a midpoint of a line, the center of a circle, etc. 

- Really inuitive drawing line and drawing tools. If I want to make a box according to the dimensions of some other object, I simply pull it up and alignment guides allow me to make it the height I want. 2D lines are really simple to use and I use them as handles all the time, e.g. center of a sphere, center of a box, etc. etc. 

- Really good snapping. If I want to pick up an object and put it on the midpoint or some other position of another object, it's really easy to do. All vertices are snap-points, as well as midpoints or guides I've created with lines, etc. 

- Ultimately, comes down to just a really really intuitive user interface that makes complete sense to me. 

- Really intuitive and easy to use solid tools. If I want to make a complex depression in an object, very simple to do by cutting it away with a solid tool. Or, even just drawing what I want on the object and push/pulling it out.