Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating New Faces On A Model

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
EranthisAconite
435 Views, 1 Reply

Creating New Faces On A Model

I'm new to 3ds max and I've recently started using 3ds max 8 for modeling purposes. It's been a very frustrating experience and I'm having trouble making new faces on a model that I'm editing. I understand that capping does this (to a degree) but it only applies to borders rather edges and since I'm working with symmettry, any borders that go to the middle will select the entire model.

Is there any other way where I can make the face without capping? The only other option I know of to make a new face is to extrude an edge into a new face and weld those points to the model to fill in the space but this process takes too long for a program that should have easier solutions. Also, I'm trying to turn most of the polygons back into squares so I can make cuts into them and the only way I can do this is deleteing and capping. Is there a way to merge polygons together?

Tags (2)
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
Anonymous
in reply to: EranthisAconite

I have to say I think it would have helped you out greatly to complete some modeling tutorials for the software before undertaking a modeling project. Smiley Wink