Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Arnold error in conversion

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
13745 Views, 6 Replies

Arnold error in conversion

hello,

I am new to 3ds max 2018. There is no NVIDIA mental ray so I tried to use Arnold. plz help. I get this when i do it. my scene is attached.

SYSTEM: Material Editor renderer is changed to Arnold. Previous messages are cleared.
This material is not supported: Metal Plate - Perforated 1 #1 (Autodesk Generic). An approximation will be used.
This material is not supported: Metal Plate - Perforated 1 (Autodesk Generic). An approximation will be used.
This material is not supported: 01 - Default (Standard). An approximation will be used.
This material is not supported: 02 - Default (Standard). An approximation will be used.

my laptop specs are :

intel i7 '

GeForce gtx 460m

DX runtime version:11

thanks.

Tags (1)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
-niels-
in reply to: Anonymous

This is normal, Arnold does not support the MentalRay materials.
You'll have to replace those materials with Arnold materials in order to get rid of those errors.

https://support.solidangle.com/display/A5AF3DSUG/3ds+Max+Materials

https://support.solidangle.com/display/AF3DSUG/Shaders

Niels van der Veer
Inventor professional user & 3DS Max enthusiast
Vault professional user/manager
The Netherlands

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: -niels-

Hello,

I'm using 3ds Max 2018. I'm going thorugh some of the autodesk tutorials, "3ds Max 2018 - MAXtoA Plugin - VR Camera - Part 4/4" at the moment. I also get the error message that "This material is not supported: 01 - Default (Standard). An approximation will be used"

I've used the scene converter.

I've checked the "Legacy 3ds Max Map support" in the System tab in Render Setup.