Did you mean: 

I'm novice in .NET and I have some questions

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
Anonymous
1052 Views, 11 Replies

I'm novice in .NET and I have some questions

Well..

First of all I'm very glad to stay here.

My name is Celso Ventura,

I'm 29 years old and I've been working with AutoCAD since year 1996

I've been developing some routines and programs since year 2000 using Lisp and VBA.

Now I'm very interesting in develop programs with .NET technology.

So I have a lot of questions.

1. Is possible to develop programs for AutoCAD 2008 (is the only release that exists in the company that I work)

2. I have Visual Studio 2008 installed in my PC, is it good and compatible with AutoCAD 2008?

3. What is that I have to download to start to develop my own applications and where I can find it?

4. What language do you recommend to learn Visual Basic or Visual C #?

Well.

In advance thank you all 

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi Celso.

I'm fairly new to .NET myself, but I think I know enough to help.

You can use Visual Studio 2008 to write for ACAD2008, but if you're using the Express edition of VS you'll want to use a wizard to set up your new projects so that you can debug your code more easily. Unfortunately I can't find one for ACAD2008 off hand, but the 2011 one can be found here, along with some great resources for getting started with either VB or C#.

As for which language to learn, that's more or less down to personal preference.

I personally feal more comfortable with VB as I moved to .NET from VBA, but that said there are some fundamental differences between VBA and VB.NET - so you might actually find it less confusing just to go with C#.

Whichever you go with, you can convert between the two with online translators, such as this one.

Hope that's of some help!

Will

Message 3 of 12
Anonymous

Hello.

The picture shows the release that I'm thinking use for develop the programs.