10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
1282 Views, 10 Replies

One basic question

Hi,
I have one basic question.
I am new to lisp, I read/used many lisp programs in which I noticed that there are some functions without C: prefix and they are used in main lisp.
I read about it how they are created and used but still dont understand how exactly to use it.
Example:
(defun C:ABC (XYZ /)
(XYZ)
)

(defun XYZ ()
)
are this can be directly used in main lisp ABC or need another functon to put the final value of XYZ in main lisp ABC?
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
pbejse
in reply to: Anonymous

Message 3 of 11
Anonymous

Thank You...
Message 4 of 11
john.uhden

I haven't read Mr. Rampage's article, but basically there are two (2) types of functions...

1.  That is prefixed with C: to become an AutoLisp command that can typed into the command line and run just like any AutoCAD command,

2.  That serves as a home-grown AutoLisp function to accept arguments and perform some specific task.  They can be called from within AutoLisp code without the need for the command function.  Functions are almost always intended to return a value, just like (+ 1 2) returns 3.

Example:

(defun average (values)

(/ (apply '+ values)(length values))

)

(defun C:Average ( / value values)

(while (setq value (getreal "\nEnter number to average: "))

(setq values (cons value values))

)

(princ (strcat "\nAverage = " (rtos (average values) 2 3)))

(princ)

)

So while the c:average function is a helpful way to take the user's input and call the average function, he can also use it from the command line as in...

Command: (average (list 1.1 3.2 2.6 4.7 pi))

John F. Uhden

Message 5 of 11
Anonymous

Thanks john,
This is more clear & easy to understand, the way you explain.
Message 6 of 11
Anonymous

Hi John,