Change Polyline Global Width of selected blocks

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
nina.susanu
3046 Views, 14 Replies

Change Polyline Global Width of selected blocks

Hi there,

I have a drawings with tens of blocks in it. I'd like to be able to change the polylines global width within certain blocks by selecting witch one to be changed and specify the new dimension. I'd like to be able to have different width for same name blocks.

I'm not sure if this is possible. 

Many thanks for your time!

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
john.uhden
in reply to: nina.susanu

I don't think it's possible to have varying widths for the same named block, but then I have no experience with dynamic blocks.  A workaround might be to clone the block definition by a different name.  I have never done it, but feel that it is possible.  Are anonymous blocks permitted?

Other than that, yes it can be done with AutoLisp.

John F. Uhden

Message 3 of 15
nina.susanu
in reply to: john.uhden

I tried yesterday some methods and yes, I couldn't change polylines widths with different values for same name block. Seems that I would need to do dynamic block for each sequence of global width. 

Thank you

Message 4 of 15
Moshe-A

Nina,

it's true the only way to achieve this is Dynamic Block and one of the option to do it is Visibility States

you have to copy the polylines multiple times as width needed and hope your width list is fixed and limited.

Moshe

Message 5 of 15
Kent1Cooper

Do you use color-based pen assignments for lineweights in Plotting, and is the range of widths you want within the range of color-based lineweights used?  If so, I would do this:

1)  Give the Polyline in the Block's definition a color of BYBLOCK.

2)  Give each Insertion of the Block a color assignment, resulting in that Polyline being of the color that will Plot at the desired width.

Only one Block definition required, and not a dynamic one, so the approach can be used in pre-dynamic-Block versions.