@Gabriel_Watson ...
I'm running on a test server which is a restored backup of our production server. So, no worries 😁.
Interesting, that's not my comprehension of how it work (at least the way the dialog box is laid out).
Not arguing here... I'm just not sure.
My interpretation is that you have the toggle boxes to combine the filter or not. So, here's my interpretation....
If you just select the "Versions except latest", and if that version is not attached to a lifecycle (item or file lifecycle), all version will be purged except for the last three versions unless when of those version is tied to a lifecycle. No matter what the date.

Ver 10 - latest checkin --> kept
Ver 9 --> kept
Ver 8 --> kept
Ver 7 --> purged
Ver 6 - (Released) --> kept
Ver 5 --> purged
Ver 4 (Released) --> kept
Ver 3 --> purged
Ver 2 --> purged
Ver 1 --> purged
Now, if you check both the toggles (Versions except latest / Version older days)....it should keep all versions of the file unless it's older than 10 years. Of the files that are 10+ years, the last 3 will always be kept and any version linked to a lifecycle will be kept. All other will be purged.

Ver 10 [10/21/2020] - latest checkin --> kept
Ver 9 [10/21/2020] --> kept
Ver 8 [10/21/2020] --> kept
Ver 7 [10/21/2020] -->KEPT
Ver 6 - (Released) --> kept
Ver 5 [10/21/2020] -->KEPT
Ver 4 [10/21/2020] (Released) --> kept
Ver 3 [10/21/2010] --> purged
Ver 2 [10/21/2010]--> purged
Ver 1 [10/21/2010]--> purged
Difference between 1st and 2nd set are the dates. Since dates are not 10 years or more, files would be kept until the 10 years are up. Ver 7 and 5 are kept because they are within 10 years.
Other interesting thing is that Help says .....
4. You are prompted to confirm locking the vault to prevent users from accessing it during the operation. Click Yes.
I don't see this prompt. It just disappears back to ADMS. If I Purge Files again...I get this....

Best,
Steve H.
Steve Hilvers
Inventor Certified User / Vault Professional Influencer