Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to create a 2-panel window with a sloped top

35 REPLIES 35
SOLVED
Message 1 of 36
james
1080 Views, 35 Replies

Trying to create a 2-panel window with a sloped top

I'm trying to build a 2-panel window with a sloped top.  It uses a pair of nested individual window panels with sloping tops and I thought it'd be easy enough to assign a short-side and a tall-side height parameters and then extract the middle height parameter.  I've never used Reporting parameters before, and expected that this would be a perfect use.  I can get the reference planes and lines to flex perfectly, but cannot find a way to link the Panel Height_Mid reporting parameter to the linked window panel geometry or to another parameter that could be linked to the geometry.

Any suggestions?  Is there a better, more simpler way to go about this?

Capture.JPG

35 REPLIES 35
Message 2 of 36
barthbradley
in reply to: james

Reporting Parameters won't help you here, but you can Associate Instance Parameters (not Reporting Parameters) in the Nested Family to Parameters in the Host Family. Wouldn't that work?    

Message 3 of 36
james
in reply to: barthbradley

Without a complicated formula, how would I be able to calculate the PANEL HEIGHT_MID? It's so nice how the reporting parameter does it, but if I set the parameter to instance it locks the position of the reference line and doesn't flex.
Message 4 of 36
barthbradley

I'm looking at your Family now and I'm not clear what you want. Can you post any screenshots explaining? Your first one isn't helping?   

Message 5 of 36
james