Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revit Toposurface from dwg contours

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Shanny9
366 Views, 5 Replies

Revit Toposurface from dwg contours

I have a survey dwg file with 3D contours that are polylines drawn at correct elevations.

I am attempting to generate a Revit toposurface from the imported contours. 

Under "insert" I have tried both import CAD and Link CAD.  Followed by going to "Massing and Site", toposurface, create from import. I am sure to only pick the contour layer which has only contours on it. 

My toposurface essentially creates a triangle surface with only 3 points and is not reading the contour data. 

I have zero experience with Revit so this is likely something I am doing wrong.  Is there a certain template file I should be using? Or something else I am missing?

I've attached the photo that shows the green contours compared to the brown toposurface.  I also attached the CAD file containing the contours.

I have tried this with multiple different dwg files containing contours and get similar results. Please help me as I have wasted 1.5 work days on what should have been a 10 minute job.

Thanks in advance!

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
ToanDN
in reply to: Shanny9

What is the Units of the drawing (feet or meters)?  I used feet for units when link and here is what i got.

ToanDN_1-1684190327697.png

ToanDN_2-1684190379439.png

ToanDN_0-1684190284133.png

Message 3 of 6
Shanny9
in reply to: ToanDN

The CAD file is meters

Message 4 of 6
ToanDN

@Shanny9 wrote:

The CAD file is meters

It works the same.  Follow the steps above and choose meters instead of feet.

Message 5 of 6
Shanny9
in reply to: ToanDN