Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

revit interior walls

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
rclement
1359 Views, 8 Replies

revit interior walls

I would like to know since I'm new to revit why when I do want to create

interior walls why revit goes to the center of the wall? even though I pick finish face interior or even exterior..

if I do in autocad vanilla you can do interior walls dimensions. I would like to have same dimensions without adding the center to center dimensions of the wall thickness?

am I missing a setting?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
D_Slaa
in reply to: rclement

If I am right it is dimensioning you are having troubles with? On the options bar when you are doing dimensions you can change your snap setting. Also hitting tab when hovering over a part of the wall changes where you will snap to.

Message 3 of 9
barthbradley

Two things: 1) Monitor your Options Bar when drawing walls; there you can indicate the wall justification to use. 2) Go to Temporary Dimension Properties under Additional Settings on the Manage Tab; there can change where Temporary Dimensions measure from (e.g. Finish Faces or Core Faces). 

One strong word of advice: do your initial wall layout using a compound layered wall type with at least 1 Exterior Finish layer and 1 Interior Finish layer -- even if no finish layer is to be applied. You can swap it out later for the correct wall type. This will insure your wall justifications are maintained as you develop the model. 

Message 4 of 9
rclement
in reply to: barthbradley

I will try and see if thgis is what I want. ty for taking the time out

Message 5 of 9
rclement
in reply to: D_Slaa