Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Import CAD 2D plans to make them 3D in revit

21 REPLIES 21
Message 1 of 22
RGD2991
1774 Views, 21 Replies

Import CAD 2D plans to make them 3D in revit

Hello,

I am University student and I've been tasked with completing floor plans, elevations and a through detail of a large 5 storey building.

I have already previously did these floor plans and elevations on AutoCAD LT for another project, so I was wondering if it's possible to transfer the plans and elevations I have completed on AutoCAD over to REVIT to make a full 3D model and if so, how difficult will it be to replicate the drawing.

I have no experience at all with REVIT, and our lecturer has tasked us this to just 'have fun' however, this is a graded mark so I'd like to do the best job I can.

I appreciate any help given, thank you!

Tags (1)
21 REPLIES 21
Message 2 of 22
mhiserZFHXS
in reply to: RGD2991

No, there is no straight-forward way to do this. And if there were, it kinda sounds like doing that would go against the intent of your assignment. Not to mention you wouldn't learn anything. Do yourself a favor and do the assignment properly and gain some valuable experience in the industry-standard software.

Message 3 of 22
RGD2991
in reply to: mhiserZFHXS

The first part of the assignment was to complete floor plans, not specified on which programme. I have AutoCAD experience as I am completing my degree vie apprenticeship route so I decided to use AutoCAD rather than hand drawing the plans (like 95% of students in this module).

I am not required to use REVIT for my job, I focus primarily on AutoCAD, therefore, apart from this assignment which is due in three weeks, I have no intentions of becoming a REVIT master.

Message 4 of 22
mhiserZFHXS