Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I change the geometry of this revit family?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
1540 Views, 10 Replies

How do I change the geometry of this revit family?

Hello, I am very new to Revit although in my group I was tasked with creating a Bi-fold parametric window shade. I found the exact one I want online although we want a metal mesh (Like the gaurdrail file) for the exterior shade, not the louvers.

Attached is the Guardrail that has the material I want the shading device to have.

also attached is the parametric shading device.

Labels (3)
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
barthbradley
in reply to: Anonymous

Select the Family in the Project and assign Project Materials to the Family's Material Type Parameters. 

Project Material to Family.jpg

Message 3 of 11
barthbradley

Just to be clear, your Family has Material Parameters under its Type Properties.  When you use this Family (or any Family)  in different Projects, you need to associate A PROJECT MATERIAL to these Material Parameters.   The Family Materials may differ from the Project Materials - and the Project Materials RULE.

For instance, if your Family is using a Material named "Aluminum" from the Family's Material Browser that is Red, and the Project that the Family  is loaded into has a Material also named "Aluminum" but it is Blue, then the Family will be Blue in the Project.   

Message 4 of 11
Anonymous
in reply to: barthbradley

Perfect, thank you Bradley. Now my issue is that we actually dont like the profile of the aluminum on the gaurdrails. (The alumnum panels with the holes)  and we would rather just have it as a flat plane that i can create a material/bitmap that will manipulate its holes sizes and placement.