Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating voids in extrusions

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1360 Views, 6 Replies

Creating voids in extrusions

I am new to Revit and still learning how to create extrusions.  I have constructed a church and a steeple separate from the roof.  I want to cut out a triangular section so that I can place it on a gable roof.  I can't figure out how to do it.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
constantin.stroescu
in reply to: Anonymous

Constantin Stroescu

EESignature

Message 3 of 7
L.Maas

You do not have to make a void. If you make the extrusion from the 'front' side a void is not needed

Extrusion.png

Louis

EESignature

Please mention Revit version, especially when uploading Revit files.

Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: L.Maas

I can't figure out how to do an extrusion in elevation view in Revit.  I'm not finding the logic of Revit.  This seems so much easier in Autocad, but I have to learn this program.  

Message 5 of 7
L.Maas

-Go to an elevation view (e.g Front, Left, Right, Back)

-Start your Extrusion

Extrusion.png

Revit is completely different from Autocad. Because it is so different, it might be good to start with a course (classes, video course or book).

It will get you up to speed with at least the basics. Than slowly everything starts to fall in place because the concepts become clear.

Louis

EESignature

Please mention Revit version, especially when uploading Revit files.

Message 6 of 7
RDAOU

@Anonymous First off please do not forget to accept solution when your question is answered. This will mark this thread with a tick which would help other forum members find answers easier when they have a similar query.