Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic of plane reference

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
julianov403
260 Views, 5 Replies

Basic of plane reference

Hello All, 

I'm new in revit and I'm not sure, when creating a new family, whats are this reference planes: 

julianov403_0-1716836897287.png

The selected has a tag "Center (Front/Back)", while the other "Center (Left/Right)" . What are this planes? This Reference level view is seeing the objet from the above? where is the floor?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
ToanDN
in reply to: julianov403

Message 3 of 6

Yes, you are seeing the object from above... the names are a reference to the front/back, left/right of the object, as the respective views (elevations). They determine orientation and origin, but also constraints, with dimensions, for modeling a family and parameters.

More Info:

https://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2024/ENU/?guid=GUID-91F64275-5E9F-44BB-B1A7-3BE26D81C857

https://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2022/ENU/?guid=GUID-63E81ED4-1538-486C-BD38-D06207B910F5

Message 4 of 6

the ground can be seen in elevation view, as the reference level

Message 5 of 6

Thanks. 

I have a quick question. I want this object to be on the ceiling, but I realized that I initially modeled it in the floor plans. Should I model it in the ceiling plan instead? When I placed it in the model, I selected the ceiling as the level, and it worked fine. So, why are there separate floor and ceiling plans for modeling an object?

julianov403_0-1716844299806.png

Message 6 of 6

Depends on what type of family you are using, maybe you choose a face based family, that's why you were able to place it on the ceiling.