Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opensource Project

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
488 Views, 3 Replies

Opensource Project

I have an idea for a open source project for revit.  I have no experience with starting a open source project. I figured I just post what I got in github.  But I want to find what are the legal issue I may come up with this.  I know this is a API forum but I figured that some of the people here would know about open source project.  

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
jeremytammik
in reply to: Anonymous

Personally, I publish everything I do on GitHub and equip everything with a standard open source MIT license. That takes care of all issues for software. For other publications, I use a Creative Commons license. I did some research on licenses a year or two ago and these seemed safe and sensible choices.

I hope this helps.

Cheers,

Jeremy

Jeremy Tammik
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network, ADN Open
The Building Coder

Message 3 of 4
Anonymous

I am looking for open source Revit projects in C# to contribute to on Github so I would be interested in contributing to your project if you are open to the idea. I am a self taught programmer looking to do more software development.

Thanks,

Message 4 of 4
jeremytammik

Dear Joe,

Thank you very much for your kind offer.

You can look at my projects on GitHub at 

https://github.com/jeremytammik?tab=repositories

All of the ones concerned with the Revit API are marked as such, and most of those are documented by The Building  Coder:

http://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com

However, they are mostly small, simple, one-off sample add-ins demonstrating some specific issue.